Háskóli Íslands

Volcano anatomy

The project

The anatomy of volcanic structures and subsurface magma transfer at Iceland‘s most active volcanoes will be investigated using novel and new techniques in seismology, crustal deformation and geochemistry. The project’s aim is to combine information from these techniques to provide three-dimensional models of volcanic structures and their heterogeneities. Ambient seismic noise tomography and other seismic techniques will be used to reveal three-dimensional structural variations. These will be compared to inferred sources of crustal deformation, and geochemcial inferences on how magma is generated, providing unprecedented joint constraints on where, why and how magma accumulates inside volcanoes. Complicated paths of magma from source to surface will be mapped by interpreting observed crustal deformation and relocated seismicity in combined models. A remarkable geophysical and geochemical data-set from eruptions of Eyjafjallajökull in 2010 and preceding episodes of unrest will be studied in detail for these purposes. Similar methods will be applied to Katla, Hekla and Grímvötn volcanoes, the most likely sites of magma movements in Iceland in coming years. The project will increase our understanding of magmatic processes, volcanic unrest periods, eruption behaviour, and provide improved early warning of eruptions. The project has a world-wide relevance is carried out by an international research team of 16 applicants, in addition to a wide network of collaborators.

The consortium

The project includes scientists from:

Nordic Volcanological Center, Institute of Earth Sciences (IES), University of Iceland
Icelandic Meteorological Office (IMO)
Reykjavík University (RU)
CNRS Laboratoire Magmas et Volcans (LMV) at University Blaise Pascal in Clermont-Ferrand in France
University of Savoie in France
Uppsala University (UU), Sweden
University of Gothenburg (UG), Sweden
Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands
Pennsylvania State University, USA
University of Wisconsin-Madison,USA
University College Dublin (UCD), Ireland

The group of participants from these institutes includes:

Freysteinn Sigmundsson (Nordvulk, IES)
Kristín Vogfjörð (IMO)
Ólafur Guðmundsson (RU)
Þóra Árnadóttir (Nordvulk, IES)
Olgeir Sigmarsson (IES, LMV)
Sigrún Hreinsdóttir (IES)
Rikke Pedersen (Nordvulk, IES)
Martin Hensch (Nordvulk, IES)
Fabien Albino (Nordvulk, IES)
Amandine Auriac (Nordvulk, IES)
Páll Einarsson (IES)
Benedikt G. Ófeigsson (IES and IMO)
Steinunn Jakobsdóttir (IMO)
Matthew J. Roberts (IMO)
Einar Kjartansson (IMO)
Evgenia Ilyinskaya (IMO)
Sigurlaug Hjaltadóttir (IMO)
Andy Hooper (Univ. Delft, the Netherlands)
Björn Lund (UU, Sweden)
Ari Tryggvason (UU, Sweden)
Erik Sturkell (UG, Sweden)
Peter C. LaFemina (Penn State Univ., USA)
Halldór Geirson (Penn State Univ., USA)
Kurt Feigl (Univ. Wisconsin, USA)
Virginie Pinel (Univ. Savoie, France)
Kristín Jónsdóttir (UCD)
and more

Þú ert að nota: brimir.rhi.hi.is