The board comprises six members, besides the students sitting on the Faculty council.

The chair of the board and two members are elected for a two-year term. Other board members are elected in accordance with Faculty of Earth Sciences rules.

The chair of the board is elected separately in accordance with IES rules (see Article 11), but the board selects a vice chair from the other board members. Both women and men shall sit on the board.

Care must be taken to ensure that the selection of board members complies with the provisions of Article 15 of the Act on Equal Status and Equal Rights of Women and Men, no. 10/2008.